Who will compete for Germany?

The Eurovision Song Contest 2023 fell victim to the coronavirus pandemic. But on the actual ESC final day, May 16, there is an alternative musical program on TV. The “Free European Song Contest”, or “Free ESC” for short, is held on ProSieben during prime time. The inventor and producer of the contest is none other than Stefan Raab (53), who has now commented on this in more detail for the first time.

“If it seems like the only solution to a crisis, giving up is the best time to start something new. Something that looks ahead and makes a virtue of necessity. Something that conveys fun, passion and optimism, ”Raab explains his motives in a new interview with the broadcaster. “The #FreeESC is a real new music competition that celebrates being united in the diversity of cultures and regions. Passionately progressive. But back to the roots. ”

Conchita Wurst (31) and Steven Gätjen (47) will lead through the evening. Not the only celebrities on the show, as Stefan Raab explains. “Lukas Podolski announced the points for Poland. After Ireland we switch to Angelo Kelly. And for the United Kingdom, Spice Girl Melanie C awards the points, ”said Raab. He continues: “The list of participants has washed up. Moderator Conchita Wurst and two other artists have already successfully participated in the ESC. ”

As a new note for the 15 prominent artists, Raab says: “The musicians were either born there, are citizens of the country they represent, or their parents were born there.” The participating countries are Croatia, Israel, Turkey, Denmark, Switzerland, Great Britain , Austria, Netherlands, Germany, Spain, Poland, Bulgaria, Italy, Ireland and Kazakhstan.

And who represents Germany? The former “TV Total” moderator explains only so much: “For Germany there is a real legend that outshines all previous German participants in European music competitions artistically and character-wise. He also looks incredibly good. ”

ga (“create”, “UA-48907336-17”, “auto”, {“name”: “SpotOnTracker”}); ga (“SpotOnTracker.require”, “display features”); ga (“SpotOnTracker.set”, “anonymizeIp”, true); ga (“SpotOnTracker.send”, “pageview”); var spotonTrackOutboundLink = function (url) {ga (“SpotOnTracker.send”, “event”, “outbound”, “click”, url);}

(cam / spot)



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

2  +  7  =